Be Tick Aware

The Yellow Dog's Blog

March 24th – 30th is Tick Bite Prevention Week. Find out more at http://www.tickbitepreventionweek.org/. We all need to be tick aware because tick bites can give you nasty diseases.  On the website there is this leaflet about keeping your pets safe. My people have got a couple of tick removal tools (one for big ticks and one for smaller ticks!) to help us remove a tick safely if we get bitten.

View original post

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Be Tick Aware

  1. Too true. A friend of mine contracted Lymes disease from a tick bite. It was hell and all to put it right. . . as best as could be done. We were walking in Scotland a few years later and she noticed that I had two ticks on my arm. Now this was a lady who was now prepared for the event. . . out came an array of tick removal tools, magic liquids and God knows what else. I was very grateful for her help. The tick head mustn’t stay in your skin and in any event should be removed in less than 24 hrs. (So I am led to believe) The next day, on my return to England I discovered to my horror the remnants of a tick in the back of my knee. Unless you are some sort of contortionist working on the back of your knee is almost impossible, especially on a job that really needs three hands and not the two we have. I strained and contorted and dug a big hole with a needle around the offending and long dead creature and finally removed it. I then spent the next weeks praying that the tell tale signs of lymes disease didn’t turn up. Thank you God. So after that scare I determined that prevention is better than cure . . . of which there isn’t !! So take the advice offered and keep yourself tick free … little devils.

Leave a Reply

