Got aphids? Help is on the way!

Got aphids? Help is on the way! « The Soulsby Farm explains how beneficial predators such as hover flies and ladybirds help control aphids

This entry was posted in Garden, Grow Your Own, Poison and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Got aphids? Help is on the way!

  1. Richard says:

    Hi Anne I spent ages typing this into a comment box on your blog but couldn’t see any way to send it …. not wishing to waste all my time I’m e mailing it !!!! All the best, Richard

    Apids? Normally my garden plays host to them like London did for the Olympics. In consequence I have tried to make the garden a home to all sorts of security guards … proper ones that is … not privatised ones … ladybirds and hoverflies especially. However , this year when I saw ladybirds quite early on I was most pleased, for I knew that a feast was in store for them. It wasn’t, for the first year for many there have been almost no aphids in the garden. Usually broad beans look black because of the little devils covering up all the green. This year hardly a one. My fear is now that the ladybirds will have starved to death or not had the strength to propagate and the hover flies will be hovering in someone else’s gardens next year.
    On caterpillars it is a different story. Despite there being few cabbage whites about this year and that I had created a netted defence system for my cauliflowers etc, some damn butterfly managed to break in … how, I know not … and now, through the netting I see my plants suffering the ravages.. Ah, the joys of the veggie plot.

  2. Anne says:

    Hi Richard,
    I have posted your comment for you. To post a comment you need to supply your email address and then click on the post comment button below and to the right.

  3. Bradley Lisser says:

    I really like it whenever people come together and share thoughts. Great site, keep it up!

Leave a Reply

