Primal Anne’s Log Earth Date 29/6/2012

Food:

yogurt and strawberries

yogurt and strawberries

Breakfast: pork patty, fried egg, grilled tomato and mushrooms

Lunch: beef adobe with mashed squash, cabbage and courgette

Supper: pork rillettes with salad followed by strawberries and home made yogurt

Snacks: 3 x brazil nuts, strawberry leather, beef jerky

Beverages: lemon juice in water with bicarb(1), black tea & milk (several), coffee with cream (1), water (2)

straining yogurt

Straining yogurt. The whey is collecting in the bowl below.

Watching the pennies: Yesterday I made yogurt. Today I strained it to make the thick yogurt we prefer. As I was pouring the whey away I wondered if there was something that I could use it for. I found “16 Ways to Use Your Whey” from The Prairie Homestead. Not all of the suggestions in this post are primal/paleo but there are some good ideas that I can use. Using what I had to hand, or could get at the local convenience store, I used 1/2 cup of the whey to ferment lemonade (following this recipe from ‘A Flock in the City’, making a half quantity and using honey as the sweetener). The rest of the whey I popped into the fridge to use for making drinks.  In future, when I have more whey, time and the necessary ingredients to hand, I am going to make Ricotta.

In the kitchen:

    • Curing: leg of pork (making air-dried ham)
    • Fermenting: sauerkraut; lemonade
    • Dehydrating: seed-nut-ola; soaked sunflower and pumpkin seeds

In the garden:

    • Picking: strawberries

Exercise:

Move around a lot at a slow pace: yes, including 2 hour walk

Sleep/Rest:  5 hours. Woken by severe cramp in right calf muscle

Play:

Sunlight: Glimpses

Avoid trauma: No. Late in the afternoon I decided to pop into the garden to pick some strawberries before my yoga practice. We have a step-over box hedge around the veggie patch. The hedge had been in need of renovation so, a couple of months ago, PrimalMan cut it back very hard.  On the way out of the strawberry patch I caught a toe on the sharp end of one of the branches. It hurt but it didn’t seem to bleed… at first. It wasn’t until a few minutes later that I noticed the bloody toe prints all over the kitchen floor! Fortunately I hadn’t trodden on anything that couldn’t be washed. Having started to bleed it didn’t want to stop until I put the foot up – no yoga practice today.

Avoid Poisons: Yes

Use your mind:

    • Blogged
    • Read
    • Finished editing the Wellsprings Aikido newsletter for July

Primal Challenge (avoid using p.c. after 7pm): Yes

Anne’s Primal Challenge (100-up): No


This entry was posted in Hints & Tips, Primal Logs and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

