Solar Powered Dehydrators

I had long wanted a food dehydrator. A couple of years ago I almost bought a ‘cheap’ one from Lakeland. I was put off by some bad reviews (must’ve been very bad). Whilst researching about dehydrators on the web I found plans for making your own solar dehydrator. I loved the idea of it. Before getting to carried away and buying the necessary tools and building materials I made a prototype from cardboard boxes, muslin and a piece of perspex based on Eden Fodor’s design (see article in Solar powered dehydrators from The Coconut Chronicles for a diagram).

The prototype worked – when there was sun. Disappointingly, it was obvious from the first use that, here in the south of England, there is insufficient, reliable sun for a solar powered dehydrator to be viable. So I had to save up and wait a little longer until I was able to buy the Excalibur. If you are a Homo habilis living in a sunnier clime and would like to make a solar powered dehydrator here are links to some websites that you may find useful.

Links:

It is possible to make your own electrically powered dehydrator too. See Kath Clements’ electric powered HOME-MADE DEHYDRATOR  made for her by her son and Alton Brown’s video, that I mentioned previously in this post, showing how to make a cheap, simple, home food dehydrator from  a box fan, some furnace filters, and some bungee cords.

B.T.W. If you do buy a dehydrator through the internet be sure that it is compatible with your country’s power supply. Excalibur dehydrators are much cheaper to buy in the U.S. but they are made to work with U.S. and not European power supplies.

This entry was posted in Food, Hints & Tips and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Solar Powered Dehydrators

  1. Velia Leffelman says:

    Wow that was strange. I just wrote an very long comment but after I clicked submit my comment didn’t appear. Grrrr… well I’m not writing all that over again. Regardless, just wanted to say wonderful blog!

  2. Altha Mindingall says:

    Hi there! I’m at work surfing around your blog from my new iphone! Just wanted to say I love reading through your blog and look forward to all your posts! Keep up the superb work!

Leave a Reply

