Crisp-braised duck legs with aromatic vegetables – Recipe test

When I was in Waitrose a couple of days ago I picked up 3 packs of two duck legs for £10. I popped a couple of the packs in the freezer and kept one out for immediate use. I looked around the web for inspiration and found this recipe for Crisp-Braised Duck Legs With Aromatic Vegetables which appeared in The New York Times. The vegetables being onion, carrots and celery, all of which I had to hand. I used two duck legs; enough vegetables for two people (3 carrots, 2 small onions and 3 sticks of celery) and around 3/4 pint stock (not homemade!).

It was a great success. It was simple to cook and tasted great. I served it with wilted spinach and mashed butternut squash. I think it would have been even better served with mashed cauliflower in preference to squash (squash and carrots being very similar in colour, texture etc.).

SO sorry but I ate mine before thinking to take a picture for you. It looked much as the picture in the recipe I was, almost, following.

Primal Anne’s Tasting Rating: 5/5

Primal Man’s comment: “This is very nice.”

This entry was posted in Food, O.P.Recipes, Recipes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Crisp-braised duck legs with aromatic vegetables – Recipe test

  1. Pingback: Primal Anne’s Log Earth Date 17/6/2012 | Primal in Poole

Leave a Reply

