Let’s hear it for DMAE!

I am not a big fan of fish. I wouldn’t miss it if I never ate it again. (What’s that sound? Oh, it’s only my fishermen ancestors turning in their graves.)

I love prawn and crab. And lobster is very nice but it’s price tag prevents it from appearing on our menu more than once a year. But fish? Nah!

I eat wild Alaskan salmon occasionally because I know that it’s good for me but it does need to be dressed up a bit if only with some ginger and garlic. I like the recipe for prosciutto wrapped salmon from Sébastien Noël’s Quick & Simple Paleo Meals ebook. That’s my current go to recipe for salmon.

Pre-primal days I would sometimes have fish and chips. That dish is not an option these days. Not that I mind. It’s actually the salt, vinegar and tartare sauce that I miss the most! It would seem that it’s all about the taste.

Periodically I have good intentions. Jane Grigson’s fish book has been on my shelf so long that the spine has faded. I don’t think I’ve ever read it. And a couple of weeks ago I picked up a hardback copy of “The FishWorks Seafood Cafe Cookbook” by Mitchell Tonks for £2 in the Publishers’ Outlet shop in Falkland Square. It does have lovely photos but I haven’t looked at it since I brought it home.

Most of us are aware that fish is good for the brain but it seems that salmon, sardines and anchovies contain dimethylaminoethanol (DMAE). Apparently DMAE helps the body to get rid of the pigment lipofuscin. Lipofuscin, found in the skin and the brain, is associated with aging and is responsible for liver spots. According to Jennifer Flanagan liver spots are accumulations of lipofuscin. That’s not it’s only health benefit. I found this list of the health benefits of DMAE. Well, if eating salmon, sardines and anchovies can stop the proliferation of those age spots that are appearing on my hands and face… bring it on!

Hmmm, I wonder if it would be possible to eat enough to get rid of the spots I already have. Now just where did I put that cookery book?

This entry was posted in Food, Poison and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

