First Attempt at a Paleo Bread

For my first attempt at baking paleo bread I chose the recipe for a Gluten Free Coconut Flour Flax Bread from Carroll in Huntington Beach, CA that I found on the Free coconut recipes website.

I was quite happy to use up 5 eggs as we have an egg glut at the present. Primal Man brought home 2 dozen farm eggs last Friday (he usually brings home 1/2 or 1 dozen) and then promply went away for the weekend. And I already had some eggs.

My mini food-processor made no impact on the flax seeds. Then I remembered that there was an old coffee grinder lurking at the back of the cupboard. I used to use it for grinding spices. It made short work of the flax. Later, when I was clearing away, I recalled why the grinder fell out of favour in the first place. The blade and grinding bowl are not detachable! The instructions are to grind a piece of bread after using to clean the blade. I guess if you are only ever grinding coffee then there would be no need to get squeeky clean each time.

Unfortunately, the bread didn’t turn out as expected. It didn’t rise and it didn’t want to come clean out of the greased, non-stick loaf pan.

Coconut Flour Flax Bread sans base

Coconut Flour Flax Bread sans base

Coconut Flour Flax Bread

Buttered up it tasted good. You could taste the coconut but it wasn’t overpowering. If you didn’t know what is was supposed to look like (from the photo accompanying the recipe) you probably would have been satisfied with the result. For sandwiches our loaf would only satisfy a Lilliputian as it was only a little over 1″ high.

When I got my glasses out I saw that the baking powder that I used was well beyond its sell by date which could be one reason why the bread failed to rise I guess. I also noticed that the powder, while wheat free, included toxins that I really would rather not be ingesting. To give the recipe a fair trial I will make it again some time using ‘fresh’ baking soda and I’ll try to remember to line the tin with baking parchment.

I served it up, buttered with organic butter, with Pork Rillettes and Sauerkraut for lunch yesterday.

Primal Man’s verdict: It’s okay – really!

This entry was posted in Food, O.P.Recipes, Poison and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

