Pork Rillettes from a recipe by Nigel Slater

On Saturday I picked up a 2lb piece of belly pork from the Reynold’s van in the street market to try out Nigel Slater’s recipe for Pork Rillettes. I am a fan of Mr Slater and have been wanting to try this for quite some time.

Here is the pork just before I covered it and put it in the oven. The herbs were from the garden. There wasn’t much thyme about but I managed to find enough.

Oven ready belly pork

Oven ready belly pork

And here it is 3 hours later.

Cooked belly pork

Cooked belly pork

The meat fell apart easily when I took it out of the oven. But, oh dear, there was very little fat. I poured what there was over the shredded meat and left it to cool a bit before I put it into the fridge. I feared we were going to end up with little piles of shredded meat on our plates rather than rillettes. I needn’t have worried because the pork firmed up nicely.

Pork Rillettes

Pork Rillettes

As you can see from the photo there isn’t a good covering of fat so it probably won’t keep for weeks. We’ll just have to eat it soon! Rillettes for breakfast anyone?

When I make this dish next time I will plan ahead and save some rendered fat from any pork joint I’ve cooked so that I will have enough fat to give a good covering even if there isn’t much from the belly pork itself.

Pork Rillettes is typically eaten with crusty bread. Not an option for us primal/paleo folks – time to check out some grain free bread recipes…

p.s. Waitrose online is currently selling 110g pots of Rillettes for £1.66 (on offer from £2.49). My piece of belly pork cost £3.50 and I have 8 good portions. Allowing a few pence for the garlic and some more for the fuel each portion cost between 50 and 60 pence. Eating primal needn’t be expensive.

This entry was posted in Food, O.P.Recipes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Pork Rillettes from a recipe by Nigel Slater

  1. Pingback: Pork Rillettes Again | Primal in Poole

Leave a comment